High Seas High School

The sailing classroom

Students of the 9th or 10th grade from all over Germany can apply for a six-month sailing tour on a traditional large sailing ship, currently the “Johan Smidt”. The founder and sponsor of High Seas High School is the boarding Gymnasium Hermann¬Lietz-Schule Spiekeroog. After an interim stop on the Canary Islands, the trip will take students across the Atlantic Ocean, into the Caribbean, to Panama and Cuba and back to Northern Germany again.
Young people curious for other countries and interested in foreign cultures and people are the target group for this adventure at sea. Prior sailing knowledge is not needed, but commitment in the sports,culture or athletics areas is.
In particular, they need to be willing to take responsibility. As part of the crew, the students are firmly integrated into the processes on board.

During the trip, four teachers will teach the students according to the Lower-Saxony Gymnasium curriculum. Participation in “High Seas High School – The sailing classroom” is recognized under school law. Students will receive a grade sheet at their return. Some Marienau students have already enjoyed this unique experience on the high seas. We will gladly established contact between you and the alumni for an exchange of experiences. For more information on the High Seas High School – The sailing classroom, see www.lietz¬nordsee-internat.de/de/high-seas-high-school

High Seas High School

Das segelnde Klassenzimmer

Schülerinnen und Schüler der 9. oder 10 Klasse aus ganz Deutschland haben die Möglichkeit, sich für den sechsmonatigen Törn auf einem traditionellen Großsegler, aktuell der „Johann Smidt“ zu bewerben. Gründer und Träger von High Seas High School ist das Internatsgymnasium Hermann-Lietz-Schule Spiekeroog. Nach einem Zwischenstopp auf den Kanaren geht es quer über den Atlantik, in die Karibik, nach Panama und Kuba und wieder zurück nach Norddeutschland.
Junge Menschen, die neugierig auf andere Länder sind und Interesse an fremde Kulturen und Menschen haben, sind die Zielgruppe für dieses Abenteuer auf See. Segelvorkenntnisse sind nicht von Nöten, dafür Engagement im sportlichen, kulturellen oder sportlichen Bereich
und vor allem die Bereitschaft, Verantwortung zu übernehmen, denn als Teil der Crew sind die Schüler fest eingebunden in die Abläufe an Bord.
Während des Törns unterrichten vier Lehrer, die unterrichtlichen Inhalte orientieren sich am niedersächsischen gymnasialen Lehrplan. Die Teilnahme an „High Seas High School – Das segelnde Klassenzimmer“ ist schulrechtlich anerkannt und am Ende des Törns wird ein Zeugnis ausgestellt. Einige Marienauer haben dieses einmalige Erlebnis auf hoher See bereits genossen und waren sehr begeistert, gerne stellen wir zum Erfahrungsaustausch einen Kontakt zu den Altmarienauern her.
Weitere Infos zu High Seas High School – Das segelnde Klassenzimmer finden Sie auf www.lietz-nordsee-internat.de/de/high-seas-high-school
  • Termine