Supporting and Challenging

Differentiated learning offers

We put very high value on supporting and challenging every single student to develop their talents beyond the regular lesson offer. We want to recognize our students’ strengths and weaknesses as early as possible and to meet them in differentiated learning offers in lessons, work groups and individual support plans for the afternoon.
Strengths are emphasized and developed further. Weaknesses are found early and new solutions are pointed out.
We put special value on constructive cooperation between parents, students and teachers. We do not leave parents and students alone with their problems.

Competition challenges

Student competitions challenge the personal willingness to perform in a special manner. Competing with others, also from outside one’s own class or school, motivates additionally.
In the social-sciences area, the knowledge competition in geography and a competition in politics and history are held.
Athletically, challenges are offered not only by participation in soccer tournaments but also in particular in the scope of the Bundesjugendspiele event in summer for athletics and swimming, and in winter for apparatus gymnastics and tracour.
Reading and photography competitions are part of the offers and challenges in the artistic and creative area.

Supporting offers

We offer supporting classes for all main subjects in grades 5 to 10. Upper-school students are able to participate in remedial mathematics, learning methods/German classes or remedial English if necessary. Marienau school offers special individual support for students with dyslexia. Results are confirmed in the form of a portfolio.
We offer symptom-specific writing trainings for students with dyslexia, usually covering one or two years. Since these disorders are often very stable, intense support is needed. The 45-minute exercise takes place once a week in the afternoon. Students are instructed individually or in pairs by a teacher with the corresponding additional qualification.

Our dyslexia concept includes:

1. Diagnosis of the orthographic competence with the Hamburger Schreib-Probe (HSP) method.
2. Development of an individual support plan
3. Training of phonological awareness
4. Word analysis
5. Practicing the basic strategies of swings, extensions, derivations, memory
6. Rule training
7. Computer-supported learning

Fördern und Fordern

Differenzierte Lernangebote

Wir legen sehr großen Wert darauf, jede einzelne Schülerin und jeden Schüler über das reguläre Unterrichtsangebot hinaus in ihren bzw. seinen Fähigkeiten zu fördern und zu fordern. Unser Ziel ist, möglichst früh Stärken und Schwächen unserer Schülerinnen und Schüler zu erkennen und diesen in differenzierten Lernangeboten im Unterricht, in Arbeitsgemeinschaften bzw. in individuellen Förderplänen am Nachmittag zu begegnen.
Die Stärken werden hervorgehoben und weiter gefördert, die Schwächen frühzeitig diagnostiziert und neue Lösungswege aufgezeigt.
Besonderen Wert legen wir auf eine konstruktive Zusammenarbeit zwischen Eltern, Schülern und Lehrern. Eltern und Schüler werden mit ihren Problemen nicht allein gelassen.

Wettbewerbe fordern

Schülerwettbewerbe fordern die persönliche Leistungsbereitschaft in besonderer Weise heraus. Das Messen mit anderen, auch über die Klassengrenze oder die Schule hinaus schafft zusätzliche Motivation.
Im gesellschaftswissenschaftlichen Bereich wird der Wissenswettbewerb Geographie sowie ein Wettbewerb im Bereich Politik und Geschichte durchgeführt.
Sportlich werden die Leistungen neben der Teilnahme an Fußballturnieren im Besondern im Rahmen der Bundesjugendspiele im Sommer im Bereich Leichtathletik und Schwimmen und im Winter in den Bereichen Geräteturnen und Tracour abgefordert.
Lese- und Fotowettbewerb bilden ein Angebot und eine Herausforderung im künstlerisch kreativen Bereich.

Fördernde Angebote

In den Klassenstufen 5 bis 10 bieten wir Förderkurse in allen Hauptfächern an. Oberstufenschüler haben die Gelegenheit an einem Mathematikförderkurs, einem Lernmethodik-/Deutsch-Kurs oder nach Bedarf an einem Englisch-Förderkurs teilzunehmen. Eine spezielle Einzelförderung bietet die Schule Marienau für Schüler mit einer Lese-Rechtschreib-Schwäche an. Die Leistungen werden in Form eines Portfolios bestätigt.
Wir bieten Schülern mit Rechtschreibproblemen ein symptomspezifisches Schreibtraining an, das sich in der Regel über ein bis zwei Jahre erstreckt. Da diese Störungen oft sehr stabil sind, ist eine intensive Förderung notwendig. Das Training findet einmal in der Woche für 45 Minuten am Nachmittag statt. Dabei werden die Schüler einzeln oder zu zweit von einem Lehrer mit entsprechender Zusatzqualifikation unterrichtet.

Unser LRS-Konzept beinhaltet:

1. Diagnose der orthographischen Kompetenz mit der Hamburger Schreib-Probe (HSP)
2. Aufstellen eines individuellen Förderplans
3. Schulung der phonologischen Bewusstheit
4. Wortanalyse
5. Einüben der Basisstrategien Schwingen, Verlängern, Ableiten, Merken
6. Regeltraining
7. Computerunterstützendes Lernen
  • Termine